Connect with us

Top Stories

Breaking: Buhari approves reopening of Idiroko, three other land borders



President Muhammadu Buhari has ordered the immediate reopening of four additional land borders.

President Buhari had in December 2020 opened the Seme, Mfun borders in the Southwest, Ilela and Maigatari borders in the Northwest.

CityNews Nigeria reports that the additional border posts which have been reopened are Idiroko (Ogun State), Jibia (Katsina State), Kamba (Kebbi State) and Ikom (Cross River State).

Deputy Comptroller-General of Customs, EI Edorhe, disclosed this in a circular on Friday issued behalf of the Comptroller General of Customs. The circular is addressed to Assistant Controllers General/Zonal coordinators, among others.


Read content of circular below:

READ ALSO:   UK Won’t Rule Out Longer Lockdown, If South African Variant Spreads Further

“Sequel to the Presidential directive dated 16 December 2020 granting approval for phased reopening of land borders namely: Mfum, Seme, Illela and Maigatari borders across the country, I am directed to inform you that four additional borders listed below have been approved for re-opening: Idiroko border post, Ogun State (South-West Zone), Jibiya border post, Katsina State (North-West Zone), Kamba border post, Kebbi State (North-West Zone)  Ikom border post, Cross River State (South-South Zone).

“Consequently, all Customs formations and JBPTy are to take note and ensure that proper manning takes place in
compliance with extant operational guidelines,” the memo said.

More to come…


Also Read...