Connect with us


Breaking! #Lagos2023: Sanwo-Olu Leads Vivour-Rhodes With 400,000 Votes




The governor of Lagos state, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has taken a strong lead in the governorship election of the state as he has cleared 18 of the 20 local government (LGs) in the March 18 governorship election conducted in the state .

Sanwo-Olu is up against Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the Labour Party (LP) and Abdul-Azeez Adediran of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the governorship position.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate and incumbent who is seeking reelection has 718,595 votes at the collation of 15 local government results on Sunday.


Sanwo-Olu is ahead of Labour Party (LP)’s Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour who presently has 257,502 from the 15 LGs announced so far.

READ ALSO:   Breaking! APC Rivers Brutal Killing Of Tonye Cole Campaign Co-Ordinator

The LP candidate won Amuwo Odofin LG while Sanwo-Olu won Lagos Island, Apapa, Epe, Agege, Ajeromi Ifelodun, Ikeja, Mushin, Surulere, Ibeju-Lekki, Ifako-Ijaiye, Badagry, Lagos Mainland, Alimisho, Ojo, Ikorodu, Kosofe, Oshodi-Isolo, and Somolu.

The governor is also ahead of his Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) counterpart, Olajide Adediran aka Jandor who has 59,172 votes from the 15 local governments.

The state collation officer said votes were still being expected from one more local government — Eti-Osa — which covers the Victoria Garden City (VGC) where elections were shifted in 10 polling units from Saturday to Sunday.


The state collation officer adjourned till 5pm ton Sunday.

Governorship elections were held in 28 of Nigeria’s 36 states on Saturday. The governorship and state assembly elections were held a week later than initially scheduled after a court case forced INEC to move them forward.

READ ALSO:   Black Market Dollar To Naira Exchange Rate Today 15 July 2022

Eight of the 36 states — Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Ekiti, Imo, Kogi, Osun, and Ondo — have governorship elections “off-season” due to litigations and court judgements.

In alphabetical order, the 28 states where governorship elections were on March 18 are Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Enugu, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, Zamfara.



Details later….

Also Read...